Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Launcher Released and a couple facelifts…

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on May 5, 2009

Hello,

The more observant among you may notice the blog looks a little bit different 😉  I had half an hour to kill yesterday so I thought I would have a go at making it look a little more interesting.  I hope you like it.

Over the weekend I also tidied up the yoke a little bit.  I bought the yoke overlay at http://www.arcadestickers.co.uk/and I can highly recommend them.  The quality is excellent, and so was the customer service.

Updated Yoke

Finally I also got around to finishing the first version of the launcher.  I’ve added a little config file so users can tailor it to their systems.  I also added sounds to make it a little more interesting.  I would still like to add a fade out routine, but that will be at a later date.  You can download version one here… http://www.urbaninteractive.net/Launcher v1.01.zip

So thats it for now.  Another update next week.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rrcade said, on May 6, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Site looks cool now. I tried your download but I’m missing something I set the paths to the games like you said but when I hit Launcher it doesn’t show me any menu it just goes directly to the first game and when I exit(esc) it just starts the same game over everytime I hit esc. I then have to ctrl alt del to get my task manager to end the Launcher.exe otherwise it just keeps looping back to the game. What am I missing?
    I should see the Menu screen from your previous videos correct?
    Let me know
    Thanks
    Jamie

  2. urbaninteractive said, on May 6, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Hi Jamie,

    Thanks for trying it. I will look into it today. I will add a few more error checks along the way so we easily identify where its falling over. Will post a new exe for you try.

    Cheers for now.

  3. urbaninteractive said, on May 6, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Ok, found the problem I think. It falls over when using the mouse mode because it was checking for Joystick stick button press and gets the wrong answer. Just fixed this. I will add a few more error traps and post the new version soon.

  4. urbaninteractive said, on May 6, 2009 at 8:08 am

    New version is available. I’ve update the main post with the link. The only file you really need to replace is the launcher.exe Hopefully this should fix the problems you have with version 1.00

    • rrcade said, on May 7, 2009 at 2:48 am

      That did the trick, works great now. I will eventually be doing the Yoke hack, but it works fine on my laptop with the newest revision. How’s the ROTJ coming along?

  5. StuC said, on May 6, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Nice site update…….. dunno how you find the time !!!

  6. DanO said, on May 8, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    The launcher looks rather nifty I must say.

  7. shrunkenmaster said, on June 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Hello Sir, I’m trying your launcher with a SW yoke & RAM Controls USB interface. The yoke shows up as “USB Yoke 1.0” under the PC’s game controller panel, but the launcher keeps saying “different joystick found”.

    In the .ini I have it set to joystick. In the launcher config it says MIcrosoft PC joystick driver (port 0).

    Any suggestions?
    Kind Regards and keep up the ROTJ!

    Ian
    cab build: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=111768.0


Leave a comment