Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Reporting in…

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on January 27, 2010

Been busy with the boring side of game development – making editors.  Since I’m writing the engine from scratch I needed to rework the editors to take into account the new optimised way of rendering.  Im also planning on releasing the whole engine as a framework for other people who may be interested in writing similar games.  With this in mind I taking a little more time over developing the editors as it has to be robust enough for public use.  Right now I have nearly finished the 2D shape editor.  Next will be font editor, and then the 2D screen layout editor.  Once this is done I will work on the 2D part of the engine and knock up a quick demo and release the source.

Still on the topic of programming, there was an interesting article over at … http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/gamesblog/2010/jan/26/casual-gaming-indiegames Its worth a read, and has been contributed to by Robert Fearon and Charlie Knight who have both released some great games in the past year.

Also whilst hunting around on the internet for all things vector related I noticed a very nice update to the Vectrex emulator ParaJVE Its still in beta stage at the moment, but those vector glows look fantastic.  I hope to replicate something similar myself 🙂

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rrcade said, on January 29, 2010 at 5:33 am

    I’m curious will the launcher work with Windows ME? I’ve tried but nothing happens at all, can I do something to make it work? I want to use this older computer because my Sidewinder software works well with ME and I have problems with XP. Please Email me, thanks.

  2. Rrcade said, on January 31, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I’m really hoping I can get the Launcher to work with Windows ME, the ROTJ Demo works but neither the Config. or Launcher do anything-I’m so close to getting this project done I hope you can point me in the right direction as far as what windows files I might need to get this working. I have another question, on your demo video of your upright machine I can’t tell how you are adding credits or exiting, are you using a keyboard or do you have a keyboard interface(Ipac or something)?
    Can I contact you directly via email?
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

