Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

So fari, So Goody as Christopher Biggins would say…

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on January 6, 2010

Just a quick update… I’m a fews days in now writing my own OpenGL engine and all is well.  I’ve managed to load in some vector models and tonight I have the camera pick working.  Which basically means I can draw objects in 3D space and select them with a mouse.  The speed improvement so far is excellent even on my low spec Mac.  I had about 500 Tie Fighters flying around with an FPS of around 270.  When I ramp it up a bit and have a 1000 ties, it drops to around 113 FPS.

Tomorrow hopefully I will upgrade to OSX 10.6 which should bring my OpenGL drivers upto 1.4.  Its quite annoying that there doesn’t seem to be any other way to upgrade these drivers without an official Apple upgrade.  With Windows it simple (and free).  Anyway once Im up to OpenGL 1.4 I can start on adding some nice effects like blur and glow shaders.  This will be optional as not all cards will support it, but most now should.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rrcade said, on January 7, 2010 at 3:54 am

    1000 Ties, YIKES! I hope you got some good deflector shields……
    Glad all is working out for you.

  2. typondis said, on January 9, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Ya. Outstanding.

  3. StuC said, on January 18, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Oooooooooo how exciting !. Is that just rendering or is that also with the AI hooked in ?

    • urbaninteractive said, on January 26, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Its without AI, but its a good starting point I think as the AI shouldn’t be too intensive.

  4. Parabellum said, on January 25, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Hi !
    I’m quite a newcomer to GLSL, but as we’re working on the same kind of graphics effects, I’ll be glad to help with the shaders if I can. 🙂

    • urbaninteractive said, on January 26, 2010 at 10:25 am

      That would be great 🙂 I really love the results you have got on your emulator.

  5. shrunkenmaster said, on June 20, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Just found your site via BYOAC – incredible stuff! But what led me to reply here was your use of the Biggins catchphrase! Many moons ago I actually went to TVS television studio in Southampton with my school and was in the audience of On Safari. This, however is not my claim to fame….

    A few years ago here in Brighton, I was in a card shop with a friend buying Mother’s Day cards. As we left the shop, I accidentally bumped into a gentleman. I apologized and he ambled off. My friend said “That was Richard Whiteley!”, I replied “No it wasn’t”. The gentleman promptly spun around, pointed at us, then said “Oh yes it was”. Magical.

    Again, sterling work here. The force will be with you, always 🙂

    Ian


Leave a Reply

