Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Cab finished, now back to some coding …

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on December 27, 2009

Happy Christmas all.  I’ve been enjoying some time with the family and really enjoying my little boys first Christmas.  He was feeling under the weather for the past 10 days (teething and a bad cold) but on Christmas day he woke up happy and started babbling again.  Now he back to his normal cheery self.  I was cheery as well as my wife bought me a nice Vectrex console (I’m sure you know what these are but if you don’t then look it up on youtube).  Anyway it needs a little work to restore it back to its former glory so thats my new little side project.

So finally the cab is finished and has been used by most of our xmas visitors who all seem to love playing on it.  At the moment it has my PC in it but I will replace it later with another one as I need my PC back.

You can see it in action here…

In the meantime I have set up my Mac so I can continue to code ROTJ.  I’ve been thinking a little more about how I can speed things up as my initial tests with hidden line drawing is a little disappointing speed wise.  I’m going to rewrite some of the code and do a batch rendering system.  Basically all this means is that I will save all the points I need to draw in memory and the draw them in one go, instead of drawing each object individually.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rrcade said, on December 29, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Nice job, it turned out great. It looks like the picture is a little dim, did you play with the mame vector settings at all? Can’t wait to see a final ROTJ, did you ever think of including the original Raster ROTJ on your menu as well?

  2. typondis said, on January 9, 2010 at 1:01 am

    You need to get someone to hold the camera while you play it some. Also, turn off the lights, and turn up the brightness on the monitor – or, as I do, set your vector intensity level in MAME to 3.0 . Really makes a difference.


Leave a Reply

