Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

So whats going on?

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on October 15, 2009

Hello,

It’s been way too long since my last post, so sorry about that.  Here’s a quick summary of whats been happening since the last post…

1) On the cab I have tried 2 methods to make a nice bezel, both of which I wasn’t happy with so they were scrapped.  I now have a different plan and will be working on that this weekend.

2) I’ve been distracted by looking at iPhone development, and have been working with a few good guys on some ideas.  This is coming along nicely and hopefully we will have some stuff out soon.

3) Finish University work for this year 🙂  Had my exam yesterday… It wasn’t brilliant, but hopefully enough to pass.  Really don’t fancy resitting that one.

Right so as you can see I haven’t been super productive on this project, but now as the winter nights draw in I will have a little more time to devote to it.  Another spur was this article…

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/items/2009/09/23.html

Stu for Ovine sent it to me, and when I read the article I thought hey thats me!  No, unfortunately Im not the duct tape programmer, but more the opposite.  I spend way too much time procrastinating, and thinking about the best way to do things.  This is probably why my last project too so long.  Anyway I thought I would set my self a challenge and see if I can change.  I’ve been thinking about the first level of this game and have been getting hung up on how to do a few things.  Well lets see if I can come up with a duct tape solution 🙂  Will let you know how it goes next week.  Now its time to fire up the IDE and get coding.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michale Hartlef said, on October 16, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Absolutely. Get something done and out. You can work on it more once people use it but if you never ship your product, well then… you worked for nothing.
    Thanks for the link, it was a great read.
    And have a nice weekend. I have a week off now and hopefully will make serious progress in with my app.

  2. Arowx said, on December 17, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Good read, programming is complex enough why do we have to make it more complex!

    It’s a good job ‘Techie’ programmers didn’t invent the wheel we’d be up to version 2345.6.7a by now which would have loads of cool features and be future proof but still be in development! ;0)

    Keep up the good work, remember ‘Eat the Frog!’ and ‘Keep It Simple Stupid!’ my guiding principles when I’m not daydreaming about multithreaded CPU/GPU real time raytraced multiplayer engines!


Leave a Reply

