Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Config update, and more…

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on April 29, 2009

Well, my little present arrived!  It’s a nice original Star Wars yoke.  Huge thanks to Scott for this 🙂 I have converted it to run on the PC using the interface from the Microsoft Dual Strike controller, and it works lovely.  Its been over twenty years since I last played Star Wars using a yoke, and I’ve come to appreciate how important it is for the overall feel of the game. – Just a quick addition… the terrible box that the yoke is mounted in is only temporary, and will only be used whilst making and testing the game.  The yoke will have a much nicer home when everything is done.

On the game side of things I have been optimising the drawing routines, and have learnt a lot about OpenGL in process.  The upside of the optimisation is I have a few more FPS to play with, and hidden line routine looks a hell of lot better than it did before.  I’ve also started work on the path routines which I will use in the first stage.  

Here is a little video to show the updates made over the past couple of weeks…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jerky said, on April 29, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Holy crap! That part where you jump to light-speed is incredible! You can almost hear “It’s a trap!” 🙂

    Which brings me to another question–Is the music going to be in the style of the original arcade games? I know that Ewok “yub yub” music off of the Atari Jedi game would sound good.

  2. urbaninteractive said, on April 29, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    You’re right it does need a “It’s a trap!” sample. Unfortunately though this sample never appeared in the rom of ROTJ. I’ve been mucking around to try and make version which sound like its been sampled by POKEY chip though.

    The rest of the sound has been lifted from the original Raster game rom. I really couldn’t do any better myself, and it does sound great in game. Anything else just wouldn’t do it justice.


Leave a Reply

