Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Launcher Done… more or less

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on April 9, 2009

Our new baby kept us up all night and I gave in trying to sleep around 5.30 this morning.  In the two hours before starting work I managed to knock up the game launcher.  The idea that this will be the first screen you see when boot up the Star Wars Mame cab.  I think I will revisit it again in the future to add some little outro effect.  When it’s finally in place I will ensure that the mouse cursor doesn’t pop up when switching between mame and the launcher so everything will be black between the switching.

 

Also related I’m quite excited about something nice arriving in the post from the States in the coming month 🙂  Once its arrived and all hooked up I will show you what I mean.   In the meantime you can see a video of the launcher in action here…

 

 

Happy Easter all 🙂

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jerky said, on April 11, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    This is beautiful! I would put this in my MAME cab even though I dont have a flight yoke!

    One suggestion–isn’t that Jedi logo from the VHS box? I think it’d be better if you use the original logo from ’83. This one: http://www.bigislandtoys.com/images/18984.jpg

    • urbaninteractive said, on April 11, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      Thanks Jerky. I am planning on giving this away when its done, but I will have to make a few amendments to allow users to set it up how they like… i.e. control with mouse of joystick etc.

      I think you’re right about the logo. I just looked at the original Atari JOTR marquee and its a completely different font. I will change it to the original logo and see what it looks like. Thanks for pointing it out.

  2. DanO said, on April 12, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    This just keeps on looking better and better. Are you planning a Linux version of ROTJ as well as the Windows one?

  3. DanO said, on April 12, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Should have searched on your blog first as I see you’ve already answered that. However, if you need a volunteer to do a Linux compile of the game then let me know.

    • urbaninteractive said, on April 14, 2009 at 6:31 am

      Thanks DanO, I will probably take you up on that offer further down the line 🙂


Leave a Reply

