Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Boomtastic

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on February 24, 2009

Hello again,

I had a sudden moment of clarity this morning and worked out how to organise the controls of the first stage.  After watching and studying a few youtube clips of the original game, and the movie I noticed that you hardly ever see any of the spacecrafts at odd angles.  I mean in space you have complete control of 3 axis of moment, so there is no up or down, however in the movie and in the games everything is always pointing up.  I guess this is because it looks better and doesn’t disorientate the player.  So now I have organised the controls so that you can turn (bank) left and right, and pull and down to a certain height.  However I never allow the player to roll, so the spacecraft and is always upright.  This will make it much easier now to organise the flight paths of the Tie Fighters as I can simplify the AI much more.

Hhhhm what else have I done?  Oh yes, you can now shoot the plasma bolts and all the enemy craft explode nicely as well.  As shown in top right of the piccy below.

Explosion

Hopefully I will give another update next week (if the baby hasn’t arrived).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. StuC said, on March 4, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    good idea not letting the player roll, should make the ai a bit easier too? I mean you shouldnt be able to loose sight of the enemy – as you say the player cant get lost in orientation as easily.

    good luck with the baby

  2. Jerky said, on April 14, 2009 at 12:42 am

    How will the Death Star explode? I had to watch the clip from Jedi on youtube to see how it blew up. I think that it would be cool if the game’s explosion mirrors the scene from the film–the cannon explodes and then a split second later, kaboom! Definitely do not recreate the scene from the Jedi arcade raster version. That one just sucks.

    I’m not sure if that shockwave from the Special Edition should be used. On one hand, it would look cool, but on the other hand, if this game was made back in the 80’s, you wouldn’t see the wave. 🙂

    • urbaninteractive said, on April 14, 2009 at 7:06 am

      Hi Jerky,

      I have to say I loved the original explosion in the SW Arcade machine. I liked the fact if was so bright it filled the cockpit up with white light. Graphically though it wasn’t too pretty. I don’t think I will be using a raster version in my game though.

      I’m not 100% sure how I will do this yet. I liked the idea of the shock wave, and think I could probably get away with it. For example when you compare the original explosion in the SW Arcaded game with the original SW Movie they are not really 100% alike, so perhaps I could stretch it to having one shockwave.


Leave a Reply

