Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

This week I have been mostly…

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on February 19, 2009

I managed to grab a few hours this week to play with ROTJ.  I’ve added the enemy plasma bolts, and I can fire them from any location and they now hit the player nicely (though still needs a little work).  You can’t shoot them yet, but that won’t be too hard to add.

I’ve also been working on the movements of the enemy.  Im not too sure how I will do this yet.  I have a couple of options.  I can give each enemy some basic flight AI, or I can hard-code fixed flight paths.  I think I will have to look around for a bit of inspiration on this.  At the moment I have programmed a makeshift AI just to see how it all bolts together.

Anyway, here’s a link to a rough video of where I am today.

http://www.vimeo.com/3287295

As I say there is no game play really implemented yet.  It’s more of an experiment to help me decide which way to program this stage.   Not sure how much I will get done next week as my lovely wife has finished work as she is about to pop.  Therefore I will be looking after her i.e. making cups of teas whilst she puts her feet up and watches daytime TV.

Leave a Reply

