Urban Interactive – Project Development Blog

Hello

Posted in ROTJ by urbaninteractive on December 10, 2008

Hello,

Just thought I would set a up a blog to record the development of my new game.  Over the past few months I kinda lost my way and became unmotivated to write a new game since finishing 3D Star Strike.  I started to make several including Battle Zone and Uridium, but lost interest along the way.  I guess one problem was that I never really enjoyed the originals anyway so the passion to remake them was limited.

So I thought for a while about what to do next, and then it struck me… Retro Remakes held a competition and one of the categories was “Sequels that never were”.  Then I started to think about the Star Wars arcade machine series, and how Star Was, and Empire Strikes Back were made using vector graphics, however Return of the Jedi was an awful raster type game.  So why not remake Return of the Jedi in the same vein as the other two games i.e. vector graphics.

I’ve been mulling over this idea now for about 3 – 4 days, and have come up with the following possible sections :

  • Battle of Endor
  • Speeder Bike Chase
  • Reactor Tunnel

Battle of Endor could be a good fun.  I’m not sure if you should fly an X-Wing or the MF at this point.  At the moment I think it should be an X-Wing perhaps protecting the MF.  Of course you can fly the MF in rector tunnel.

Ok, so that’s the idea for my new game.  I started to code some little routines and decided I will use BlitzMax.  So far I have a basic vector font routine all written.  I will also need to port over my vector graphics routine which I wrote in Blitz3D.  Below is the just a test to see if the lines work ok.

The infamous teapot shot

Leave a Reply

